Who We Are

Board of Trustees

South Carolina First Steps thrives on the dedication, input and guidance of our Board of Trustees. Our Board represents a statewide group of leaders consisting of designated legislators, current and former educators, heads of state agencies, members of the business community and parents of young children. These individuals make up a cohesive board that mirrors the diversity of the families we serve throughout the state.

With our board's leadership, we are committed to accomplishing our mission of preparing all kids for success in school, work and life.


David Morley, Governor's Designee, Chair

Shelley Canright, Ph.D., Early Childhood Educator, Vice Chair

Representative Rita Allison, SC House of Representatives

Representative Jerry N. Govan, SC House of Representatives

Senator Greg Hembree, SC Senate

Senator Gerald Malloy, SC Senate

Mary Lynne Diggs, SC Head Start Collaboration Office, Director

Constance Holloway, SC Department of Disabilities and Special Needs, Interim Director

Robert Kerr, SC Department of Health and Human Services, Director

Michael Leach, SC Department of Social Services, Director

David Mathis, Ed.D., SC Department of Education, Deputy Superintendent - Superintendent's Designee

Edward Simmer, M.D., SC Department of Health and Environmental Control, Director

Sue Williams, Children’s Trust of SC, Chief Executive Officer

Walter Fleming Jr., Business Community

John Hayes, M.Ed., Early Childhood Educator

Timothy Holt, Business Community

Jesica Mackey, Parent of a Young Child

Jennifer McConnell, Child Care Provider

Janie Neeley, Parent of a Young Child

Alexia Newman, Medical / Child Care Development Provider

Roger Pryor Jr., Child Care Provider

Amy Williams, D.N.P., Medical Provider